The city of Huelva is an important fishing port, and is the capital of the province. Nearby are numerous reminders of Christopher Columbus, who spent much time here before setting sail for America.

Huelva is part of the Costa de la Luz (Coast of Light) that forms the Andalucian Atlantic shore in the provinces of Cadiz and Huelva. Its most important tourist centres are Barbate, Algeciras, Tarifa, Conil de la Frontera, Chiclana de la Frontera, Cadiz, El Puerto de Santa Maria, Rota, Chipiona, Sanlucar de Barrameda, Torrre de Higuera, Mazagon, Punta Unbria, El Rompido, Cantilla and Isla.

Huelva is situated on the border with Portugal, separated by the Guadiana river (which is now crossed by a bridge providing easy access by road). It covers nearly 10.000 km² and is divided into four perfectly delimited regions: mountainous, mining, agricultural and coastal.

The majority of Huelva’s splendor is spread throughout the province: La Rábida was the point of departure for Columbus’ voyage to discover America (visiting the interesting Columbian places is highly recomended). The Condado area delights it’s visitors with wines and beautiful towns. The mountain range of Aracena with the Gruta de las Maravillas (Caves of Wonder), Alájar and Jabugo, which has become world famous for its jam. The Cortegana range has a castle and small towns (Funenteheridos, Galaroza, Almonaster la Real…). It is a land of chestnut trees, hills, perennial vegetation, and mountain pastures. The mining region is home to the towns of Tharsis, Río Tinto and Nerva. The agricultural region includes the towns of Bollullos del Condado, La Palma del Condado, and Almonte the most universal town in the area owing to a yearly pilgrimage to a small village called El Rocío.

The province is probably best known for its marshlands and national park, called the Coto Donaña where, amidst sand dunes, marshes, pinewoods and freshwater lagoons live flamingos, plus rare buzzards, lynx, mongoose and a startling variety of migratory birds.